Meet the department: Irene Morris

[Latest in this series. This week, Irene Morris, one of the department’s PhD students]

What do you most enjoy doing in the department?

Is it wrong to say tea breaks in ICARUS? Obviously I love doing my research but you always learn so much about other peoples work and have some really great debates over tea/coffee in the mornings.

What book are you currently reading?

Apart from my wonderfully exciting thesis related reading list? I have just finished The Great Gatsby by F S Fitzgerald and am working my way through A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson.

What TV show are you watching?

The list is endless, I think it’s my favourite way of procrastinating… I am really looking forward to the next series of Game of Thrones

What music are you currently listening to?

My husband tends to monopolise the radio at home and in the car so I am reluctantly listening to jazz, Dylan and the Rolling Stones. If I have the radio to myself I will probably be listening to Beat, or Spin. The last CD I bought was Florence and the Machine, Ceremonials.

Do you have a hidden talent?

Despite not listening to much music at the moment, I can play (badly) a number of musical instruments, my favourite is the classical flute. Some might also say I have an uncanny ability to say the wrong thing!

If you could change one thing in NUI Maynooth, what would it be?

Better communication among departments and admin centres. Sometimes I feel like people go out of their way to make sure that it is hard to find out about all the interesting events happening on campus.

Soapbox or Pet Peeves

People that don’t (or won’t) queue properly!

Leave a Reply

