The MA in Geography

Maynooth University’s Department of Geography now offers a unique MA in Geography. We have 30 civil society partners (see below) working in collaboration with Department of Geography staff to offer students opportunities to learn about ‘real world geographies’ in Ireland and beyond. The partners invite students to directly learn about their ongoing research in the arts, heritage, environmental, NGO sector, activist, housing, planning, and policy-related fields. Unlike other postgraduate degrees in Ireland or Europe, students are offered the opportunity to learn directly from local experts on a range of topics related to social and spatial justice through public engagement.

Students on the MA in Geography can also focus their studies on diverse themes, such as: local and global solidarities; art, culture and environment; globalisation and cities; community development; and health geographies. Throughout the course, students are introduced to engaged learning, ethical and responsible research practices, and a grounding in geographical methodologies, such as field methods and an optional course in GIS and participatory mappings. This flexible degree has been designed to be available as a one-year full time offering or a two-year part-time option. The in-class teaching is concentrated on Thursdays and Fridays, with some Saturday field classes.

For more information on the MA in Geography, please see https://www.maynoothuniversity.ie/geography/our-courses/ma-geography

Or, email the MA Director: karen.till@nuim.ie.

For more information about our partners, see their respective webpages below:

Action from Ireland (Afri): http://www.afri.ie/

Ballyhea Not Our Debt Campaign http://thechatteringmagpie14.blogspot.ie/

Burrenbeo Trust (Kinvara): http://www.burrenbeo.com/

Butoh Moving Bodies Dance Festival: www.movingbodiesbutohfestival.com

Butler Gallery (Kilkenny): http://www.butlergallery.com/

CIOTÓG Dance Ensemble Dublin: http://www.ciotog.ie/

Cloughjordan Ecovillage (Tipperary): http://www.thevillage.ie/

Community Solidary Group, Right2Water: https://www.facebook.com/CommunitySolidarityNorthKildare?fref=ts

culturstruction: http://culturstruction.com/

Debt and Development Coalition: http://www.debtireland.org/

Dublin Biennial: http://www.dublinbiennial.com/

Dolphin House Regeneration Project (Dublin): http://dolphinhouse.ie/

TheEmergencyRoom: http://www.olwenfouere.com/index.php?/theemergencyroom/

Experimental Film Club (Dublin): experimentalfilmclub.blogspot.com/

Firkin Crane (Cork): http://www.firkincrane.ie/

Icon Factory (Dublin): http://iconfactorydublin.ie/

Irish Museum of Modern Art: http://www.imma.ie/en/index.htm

Irish Heritage Council Small Walled Towns Network: http://www.heritagecouncil.ie/irish-walled-towns/welcome/

Kildare County Council Arts Service: http://www.kildare.ie/artsservice/

Office of Public Works Ireland (Oifig na nOibreacha Poiblí): http://www.opw.ie/en/

Playtime: http://www.playtime.ie/

Project Arts Centre: http://projectartscentre.ie/

Services Industrial Professional and Technical Union (SIPTU), National and Community Campaigns, and Research Division: http://www.siptu.ie/

Shell to Sea (Mayo): http://www.shelltosea.com/

St. Anthony’s Park Community Development Initiative (Cork) (working with the Traveller Visibility Group & Cork Traveller Women’s Network)

TransColonia: http://transcolonia.org/

Trocaire: (Maynooth; advocacy and campaigns): www.trocaire.ie

Workhouse Assembly (Callan): http://www.workhouseassembly.com/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: